Call him what you want: Robbie, Bert, Osuna Matata, point is if we didn’t have Roberto Osuna in our bullpen, let alone our team, the Toronto Blue Jays wouldn’t be where they are today. He’s there best relief pitcher, possibly their best pitcher overall and one of the  best closers in the majors  right now. Oh, and did I mention that he’s only 21. It’s only his 2nd season in the MLB and he’s already pitching like a veteran. All I can say I see many Cy Youngs and a Hall of Fame induction in his future.

r18363_1296x729_16-9
Pitcher Roberto Osuna, Toronto Blue Jays Courtesy of http://www.espn.com

 

If it isn’t already obvious, Roberto Osuna is my favorite Blue Jay and my favorite player in baseball. I don’t just like him because he’s incredibly handsome (have you seen his eyes?) , I respect the way he plays the game of baseball (the praying before and after he pitches) , and that he’s a class act player. Last season he posted a 2.58 ERA, 1-6 record (I know not the greatest) and 20 saves. His rookie season at just 20 years of age. He surprisingly didn’t win the Rookie of the Year award which I was extremely angry about but I was so proud of him as were all Jays fans.

Coming into this season, I was nothing but confident that Osuna would do amazing as he did last year, and no surprise there I was right. So far this year he has a 2-2 record, a 2.42 ERA in 67 innings pitched, has appeared in 66 games with 34 saves and 81 strikeouts. Every time I watch him pitch, which is what I wait 3 hours for and extremely enjoy, it just blows my mind how a pitcher that young pitches with such finesse  and confidence. He’s just so good and I am eager to watch him pitch for many more years with the Jays or not (if he ever got traded, I wouldn’t stop crying so I’m praying that doesn’t happen) but whatever does happen, I will be cheering him on because of what he’s done for our team.

And if I may squeeze one more thing in, Roberto Osuna will be the next Mariano Rivera.

 

 

 

